The end of my love affair with Bubbles O’ Leary’s

I happen to be a contributing editor for a magazine called The Expat Guide. My boss had called letting me know that there was an event going down at Bubbles O’ Leary’s, and would I be able to pass by and write a few lines about it? I told her I couldn’t as I had a date with friends.

But when 8.00 pm found me in the area code, I decided to pass by and have a peek. There were about two females and two male guards at the entrance. As I was about to open my bag for them to check it, one male guard snapped at me:

“Gwe Nyabo! Oyagala chi?” (You woman! What do you want?)

Astounded, I simply stared at him.

“I’m asking you! Who do you know inside there?” he growled, in Luganda.

“Why are you talking to me like this?” I asked him…

View original post 1,713 more words

Leave a Reply

